This article describes the Content Engine™ in Cloud Academy. Content Engine is available in enterprise accounts. Anyone in your enterprise can create content in Content Engine, but only administrators can publish the content.
This article contains the following sections:
- What Is Content Engine?
- How to Navigate to Content Engine
- How to Navigate to Custom Content
- Managing Custom Content
What Is Content Engine?
The following image shows the Content Engine screen:
Content Engine is a tool in Cloud Academy where you can create custom learning content for your team members. You can use this feature to clone and customize labs that mirror your production environment, upload your new employee training materials so that your employees have a one-stop shop for all training, and deploy internal certification programs..
In Content Engine, you can create your own:
You can clone existing Cloud Academy materials so that you can tailor them to your environment, and you can mix delivered Cloud Academy content with your own custom content.
Each Content Engine instance is isolated from other Cloud Academy accounts, so the content you create and customize is available only to your own users. Content Engine puts you in control with granular individual and team permissions. You can create, export, and delete content on demand.
How to Navigate to Content Engine
To navigate to Content Engine from the Cloud Academy dashboard, hover your mouse over your company name in the upper right corner and click Content Engine from the menu that appears.
How to Navigate to Custom Content
After you publish your custom content, it appears at the bottom of the left navigation in the training library.
You control the categories and subcategories that appear in your custom library. When you create custom exams, custom learning paths, and custom hands-on labs, you choose the category where the item appears.
Note: The system may take a few minutes to index your custom content after you publish it. If your content does not appear in your library categories right away, make sure it is published and wait a few minutes. You can also try hard-refreshing your browser.
Managing Custom Content
If your custom content becomes outdated after you publish it, you can use the Outdate feature. Outdating content keeps the content available to the historical and analytical functions of the platform. For example, outdating lets learners access the content via direct links, such as from their Continue Studying or Completed Content tabs on the dashboard. Outdated content does not appear in the training library for new users to start using.
You can also archive custom content. When you archive custom content, it is no longer available for learners or administrators for any purpose. Whenever possible, you should outdate, rather than archive, custom content to maintain a complete history of your custom content.
Note: You can archive only content that is in published status. If you previously outdated content, you must return it to published status in order to archive it.
You can outdate and archive custom content. At this time, the system does not support deleting content. If you urgently need custom content permanently deleted from your account, contact customer support.